Award Winners

Font size: [A] [A] [A]

Students at The University of Scranton were recently recognized for outstanding academic achievement at an awards ceremony held on campus. Frank O'Hara medals were given to first-, second- and third-year students with the highest grade point averages in the Kania School of Management, the Panuska College of Professional Studies, the College of Arts and Sciences, and the College of Graduate and Continuing Education for the 2011-2012 academic year, and students with the highest grade point average at approximately the mid-point of their master's degree programs in each of Scranton's graduate programs. The award is named in honor of the late Frank O'Hara, who served the University for 53 years in various administrative positions.

Michele A. Wall of Throop is a medal recipient for her junior year. An early and primary education major, she has worked in a first-grade classroom at the Pittston Area Primary Center, as well as an early childhood learning center. A dean's list student, Wall served as a student organizer for the Panuska College of Professional Studies' annual Blessing of the Books and received the college's Panuska Service Learning Award for 2009-10.

From left: Dr. Debra Pellegrino, Lindsay M. Scheve, Dana E. Raciti, Claire E. Murphy, Sarah Lamothe, Courtney A. Ruch and Michele A. Wall.

We welcome user discussion on our site, under the following guidelines:

To comment you must first create a profile and sign-in with a verified DISQUS account or social network ID. Sign up here.

Comments in violation of the rules will be denied, and repeat violators will be banned. Please help police the community by flagging offensive comments for our moderators to review. By posting a comment, you agree to our full terms and conditions. Click here to read terms and conditions.

Read The Valley Advantage

Read the latest e-edition.