Holy Cross gets grant for pilot program

Shown at the AllOne Charities check presentation to Catholic schools are, from left: Kristen

Shown at the AllOne Charities check presentation to Catholic schools are, from left: Kristen Donohue, superintendent of Catholic schools; Jason Morrison, Diocesan secretary of Catholic education/CEO; John Cosgrove, executive director, AllOne Foundation & Charities; the Most Rev. Joseph C. Bambera, Bishop of Scranton; and Sandra Snyder, Diocesan grant writer.

Thanks to a $22,000 grant from AllOne Charities, Holy Cross High School and the NEPA Center for Independent Living have formed a pilot partnership to ensure that special-needs students get the best hands-on educational experience possible.

Four students in Holy Cross’s Individualized Instruction program will directly benefit from this grant by attending a specialized program at NEPA CIL that will help them develop the critical life and practical skills that will best position them for post-graduation success in the workplace, according to a press release. The students suffer from health-related conditions and challenges.

“AllOne Charities is pleased to serve as a partner in the innovative and collaborative work between Holy Cross High School and the NEPA Center for Independent Living,” John Cosgrove, executive director of AllOne Foundation & Charities, said in the press release. “There is so much more we can achieve together in improving the access to quality programming for our friends and neighbors with special needs.”

Diocesan Secretary for Catholic Education Jason Morrison recognized AllOne Charities’ commitment for enhancing access to special-needs programs for Catholic school students.

“We are grateful to AllOne Charities for the generous support of our students with exceptionalities,” he said. “This gift achieves our goal of ensuring that all students achieve their God-given potential and are prepared for life beyond the classroom.”

Diocesan Catholic schools currently offer four separate individualized instruction programs for students with special needs.

At the elementary level, these students can attend Good Shepherd Academy in Kingston or All Saints Academy in Scranton, and at the secondary level they can attend Holy Redeemer High School in Wilkes-Barre or Holy Cross High School in Dunmore.

Partnerships like these supplement the personal attention and support students are able to receive and ensure that those attending Catholic schools are receiving a complete range of services tailored to their unique needs, according to the press release.

“By holding students to high expectations, individuals acquire the academic, functional, and social skills necessary to live as active members of society and stewards of God’s creation,” said Doreen Dougherty, principal of Holy Redeemer High School. “Families gain an invaluable support system in close relationships formed with other families. Students grow to respect and appreciate the gifts God has given each of us.”

Johnson College programs recognized

Johnson College’s Physical Therapist Assistant program has been granted accreditation affirmation for 10 years from the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education, according to a press release.

Additionally, the Veterinary Technology program’s 2020 graduates received a 100% pass rate on the Veterinary Technology National Exam. This score places the program’s three-year pass rate at 94%.

The Radiologic Technology program’s 2020 graduates received a pass rate of 95% on the American Registry of Radiologic Technologist Radiography Exam. Johnson College graduates surpassed the 2019 national pass rate average by 6%.

“This past year, our faculty and students faced many challenges, but they persevered by sharpening their skills to advance to new levels,” said Barb Byrne, Johnson College associate vice president of faculty. “As these pass rate scores demonstrate, our graduates’ are well prepared as they enter the workforce of many of our region’s essential industries.”

Fire department hosting training course

Dickson City Fire Department and the Mid Valley Emergency Services Association is hosting an Essentials of Firefighter course starting Jan. 25.

Participants must be a minimum of 14 years old and have all turnout gear, including coat, pants, boots, helmet and eye protection. A face covering is also required. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, there will be a cap of 15 people in the class, which will be held at the Dickson City Fire Department, 1 Eagle Lane.

Module 1 includes classes at 6:30 p.m. on Jan. 25 and 27, and 9 a.m. Jan. 30. Module 1 includes classes at 6:30 p.m. Feb. 4, 10, 15 and 17, and 9 a.m. Feb. 13 and 20. There is also a required Hazmat Awareness Class on Feb. 3.

For more information or to sign up, message Dickson City Fire Department on Facebook.

Fire companies tap leaders for new year

Wilson Fire Co. No.1 and Dickson City Fire Department chose new leaders for 2021.

At Wilson Fire Co. No. 1, Ross Homentosky will serve as president, Tim Keller as vice president, Frank Lesnefsky as secretary, William Griffiths as treasurer and John Ryczak as delegate to NEVFF. Chris Dubas, Bryce Cholish and Keller will serve as alternates to the NEVFF.

Tom G. Taylor will be the fire prevention officer; William McElroy, trustee; Cholish, training officer; Ken Taylor, safety officer; Anthony Ligi, captain of the fire police; Jason Leri, chief; Taylor, first assistant chief; Guy Salerno, second assistant chief; Gregg Cholish, captain; Robert Kochanowski, first lieutenant; and David DeLeo, second lieutenant. Paul Kwiek is outgoing president.

The company meets on first Monday of the month at 7 p.m. in company headquarters.

For Dickson City, Matthew Horvath will serve as the fire chief, Richard Chowanec as first assistant chief, John Wallo as second assistant chief, Martin Hrinko Jr. as captain, Michael Fedorisin as first lieutenant, Scott Bidwell Sr. as second lieutenant, Anthony Romeo as third lieutenant and William P. MacCallum as fourth lieutenant.

James Slocum III will serve as chief engineer, Kenneth Oakley as first assistant engineer, Joseph Chowanec as second assistant engineer, Christopher Kosydar as third assistant engineer and William Leggat as fire police captain.

Chowanec will serve as the department’s president, Thomas Homenchak as vice president, Robert F. MacCallum as treasurer, Frank Mazur as financial secretary, William Bilinski as recording secretary and James Slocum III, Andy Zewe, Charles Edwards, Joseph Chowanec and Anthony Romeo as trustees.

Recommended for you