Albright College

Lauren Walsh of Jessup received a presidential scholarship from Albright College. Walsh is a senior at Valley View High School and is interested in studying early childhood education and business administration: management in college.

Albright College awards presidential scholarships, in the amount of $15,000 per year, to students with outstanding academic records. Presidential scholars generally rank in the top five percent of their graduating class and demonstrate strong leadership skills and a commitment to service.

Bloomsburg University

Jennifer Remetta of Throop was recently initiated into the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society. Remetta was initiated at Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania.

Remetta is among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

University of Scranton

The following local residents were among the 19 University of Scranton students inducted into Beta Beta Beta, the national honor society for biology. For induction into the honor society, students must have completed at least three biology courses, maintained at least a 3.0 grade point average in biology, and be in good academic standing at the University. The honor society encourages undergraduate biological research through presentations at conventions, publication in the journal BIOS, and research/travel grants. The University’s chapter of the honor society was established in 1994.

Students inducted are:

Hannah Gilhooley of Olyphant, a junior biology major.

Allison McGee of Peckville, a sophomore biology major.

Nikalina Veno of Archbald, a senior biology major.

Wyoming Seminary Upper School

Tyler Kotowski of Scott Township was named to Wyoming Seminary Upper School’s dean’s list for the second term of the 2019-2020 academic year.

Kotowski was also the winner in boys ice hockey MVP Award and the Gold Award. Athletes who earned four varsity letters or three varsity and one junior varsity letters in their sport receive Gold Awards.

Recommended for you